4 stars

Title: These Broken Stars (Goodreads page)
Authors: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
Genre: Sci-fi, Romance, Fiction


These Broken Stars Summary


MY REVIEW


This was honestly another enjoyable read! I loved reading about Tarver and Lilac. I loved watching their relationship grow. I loved how unique their story was. And l also I loved the cover. I felt like it would have been terribly unkind of me to continue without acknowledging its beauty.

But here’s what I loved the best:

The originality
This story is completely its own. It was nothing like I expected it to be. The setting is unusual, something new. A story set in such a world can take many routes, and the world can be crafted in any way possible, and leaves room for plenty of imagination. I sound like a commercial.

The writing style
Normally I don’t like to read books with dual perspectives, but in this case, there is such a huge difference between the two points of view that reading from both Tarver and Lilac’s perspective makes their actions much easier to understand.

Perhaps the most enjoyable sections to read were Tarver’s interrogatory interventions just before each chapter. The cynical way in which he speaks makes the exchanges all the more humorous, and the presence of these short excerpts makes it seem as if Tarver is retelling the whole story to you. But maybe it was just wishful thinking on my part.

The characters
The relationship between the two main characters was quite complex. Their friendship was slowly built, and made the story all the more compelling to read. Reading the exchange between Lilac and Tarver during the start of their adventure was HILARIOUS. I actually laughed out loud a couple of times. But not going to lie. Their constant bickering also made me want to bash their heads together and tell them to hurry up and become friends already.

The cover
I know I’ve mentioned this above, but there’s more to my love for the cover than just its looks. I like to think I’m not that shallow. It makes me happy to see a cover completely relevant to the story, and I appreciate how the illustration is made specifically for this one – how much the models resemble the characters, and how the background actually depicts the setting.

SO TO CONCLUDE…
Overall, a pleasant read! This is a story about survival, love, and hope, set in a place with many dark secrets. I know quite a number of people have been describing this book as an ‘intergalactic Titanic’. Although there are some similarities (i.e. the ship crashes), I don’t particularly agree with this view. Despite all the positives, I found the world-building in this novel to be a little lacking in terms of the background (why is there a hierarchical society? etc.), but this may be revealed in later installments in the series.

If you’ve been wanting to try sci-fi novels for a while, and normally read more contemporary books, this would be a good place to start!

Can’t wait to read the next one!

